Leaning into the opportunity

Sometimes things happen that we don’t like, like the position I applied to and got interviewed and even got reference checks completed and still they went with another candidate. Sigh.

Maybe its time to evaluate what is in front of me, as an opportunity rather than a liability.

The trouble is…if I stop applying for jobs and give up applying on my own…then..I will definitely not score a job!

Well actually not quite, I can lean on staffing agencies to send me jobs (sure I gotta give them a cut but then I save the time to apply for jobs and headaches etc.) – they do my screening for me. They interview me once and place me multiple times. I think its the easier way and maybe the way to go given this COVID economy and me being new to this City with no connections.

Hmmmm….With the time savings, I can:

  • Study more – cover more chapters, get through the course faster, onto the 2nd course (because its June already, 5 more months left to do 3 more courses and that is under 2 months per course)
  • Write on my book -creative time and when am I gonna get time to work on it really? (First it will be work and study undergrad, then it will grad studies, then it will be work again, then 3rd pregnancy and 2nd baby) – the time is NOW.
  • Coach some of my current clients (Casual)
  • Improve my Resume based on HL stuff, get ready to pitch and get Grizzly certified! – may lead to a PT or FT job down the road – its a stretch but its a good start.

So maybe that is the way to go! This job search needs to be handed over to maximize my time and resources. They can get me a job much faster than I can, seems like. Gone are the good days in Edmonton when I had connections there.

To New beginnings and pivoting!

xx

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started